Factsheet: ISCBM


Key Information
In order to coordinate the formulation and implementation of biofuel policies, in 2008 the Inter-Sectoral Commission for Biofuel Management (ISCBM) was established by Decree 2328/2008. The Commission includes the following members: the Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development, the Ministry of Mines and Energy, the Ministry of Environment and Sustainable Development, the Ministry of Transport, the Ministry of Commerce, Industry and Tourism, and the National Planning Department. The main functions of the Commission are: - To coordinate the formulation and implementation of policies on biofuels developed and implemented by the various agencies and entities; - To coordinate with the private sector national plans containing strategies for the management of feedstock for the production of biofuels; - To promote development and innovation in the production and management of biofuels; - To contribute to increasing the participation of Colombia in multilateral fora that advance international cooperation in matters related to the production and use of biofuels; - To promote cooperation mechanisms between national and international organizations in connection with the production and management of biofuels; and - To enact specific legislation.
Stimulate advanced biofuels. Support R&D for biofuels.