Factsheet: Environment Code

Environment Code

Key Information


The Legislative Decree no. 152 of 3 April 2006, so called the “Environment Code”, simplifies, rationalises and reorganises environmental regulations into six key sectors: waste, water, soil protection, air pollution, environmental procedure and environmental damage. Environmental regulations are divided into 5 chapters: procedures for strategic environmental assessment (VAS), assessment of environmental impact (VIA) and integrated environmental authorisation (IPPC); soil protection, combating desertification, protecting water from pollution and managing water resources; waste management and reclamation; air protection and reduction of atmospheric emissions; and environmental damage. In particular in the V° part of this law are given for biomass power plants the regulations for obtaining the emissions authorisation and established limit values and monitoring frequencies of emission in the atmosphere.